The Tier 1 visa will be fully implemented on 30 June 2008, the Home Office announced. This will cover several Tier 1 catogries including Tier 1 (General) which has already been rolled out, Tier 1 (Entrepreneur), Tier 1 (Investor) and Tier 1 (Post Study Work). The much anticipated Tier 1 (Post Study Work) which grants two years of working visa to international students graduating from UK higher educational institutes, will replace current IGS and Scotland’s Fresh Talent scheme.

The Tier 1 visa is part of the points-based system, and will replace the following visa categories. On or after 30 June 2008, visa application of the following categories will not be accepted. Applicants must apply for one of the four Tier 1 categories.

The categories that will close and be replaced by Tier 1 on 30 June 2008:

* the Highly Skilled Migrant Programme (HSMP);
* business people;
* writers, composers and artists;
* Fresh Talent: Working in Scotland Scheme;
* International Graduates Scheme;
* innovators;
* investors;
* self-employed lawyers.

The announcement on UK Border Agency website.